The Five Freedoms

1 comment

Five Freedoms Logo

Our animal welfare philosophy is grounded in the belief that the welfare of an animal includes its physical and mental state and that good animal welfare implies both fitness and a sense of wellbeing. The RSPCA considers that an animal’s welfare should be considered in terms of five freedoms:

  1. Freedom from Hunger and Thirst
  2. Freedom from Discomfort
  3. Freedom from Pain, Injury or Disease
  4. Freedom to Express Normal Behaviour
  5. Freedom from Fear and Distress

Learn more about the five freedoms on the RSPCA Australia knowledgebase.

Five Freedoms Poster

Download the Five Freedoms poster

Five Freedoms poster with the five freedoms and pictures of animals